Coffee Roasting     Natual Yirg, late crack

2024-03-04 03:24

Natual Yirg, late crack

Hello Everyone, roasting a new natural yirg on my MCR-1. Trying to get this coffee dialed in and I have limited experience with roasting natural coffees. I roasted this coffee 5 times now and this most recent roast I increased the maillard phase by 2 minutes compared to my last profile. From what I understand, spending more time in the maillard phase for naturals brings out more fruity notes and develops the sugars on the outside of the bean. The issue I am having with this current profile is I seem to be hitting FC really late (BT at 403-406F) and I end up getting no development at the end of the roast in fear of getting it too dark. Although cupping the coffee today, it would serve well to develop it more, very little body in this cup of coffee, tastes very light. I see two options at this point, I can either continue to run the roast further into development or can hit this roast with more heat during the Maillard phase to help it crack earlier on.

Compared to washed coffees I have roasted, where they are roasted hotter and faster and 406F is a decent medium roast level, has anyone ran into this same dilemma? Where stretching out the maillard phase causes for a late FC and a need for a higher final BT on naturals as compared to roasting a washed coffee hot and fast.

Have a look at my profile, I welcome any and all input to roasting natural coffees. Thank you!

Link

Comments

Views
2024-03-04 03:34
Link

check my profile I have MCR-10 but you can inspired by this profile it is Yirg Adado

https://portal.roastpath.com/publicroasts/index/583914354918020324

Link

What's the harvest year? (Older coffee can often have a protracted development due to reduced water)